Friendships Forever

Late sunday night, as I was about to retire for the day after a long drive from Kuala Lumpur due to traffic jam in the North South Highway, I received a call from my daughter. She was asking about whether or not it is a good idea to collect some money among friends and give them away as donations on behalf of their friends who was  killed in a road accident few weeks ago. I gave my opinion and asked her to refer to another friend for clarifications on the various fatwa, and opinions on the matter. Few minutes later she called informing that they had found a clear explanation from Ustaz Zaharudin’s website. I concurred with the opinion, although I have my preferences. What a convenient world today, knowledge at finger tips.

The point that I would like to highlight here is the value of friendships. They were friends since their primary school days. When I received the news about the accident, I was not sure how to inform my daughter. I was thinking of getting all the relevant information before calling her. But about an hour later, I received a message from her, requesting permission to come back to Johor Bahru to “meet” her beloved friend. So, I calmed her down and asked them to be careful in the journey. Five of them traveled in a car from IIU Gombak and reached Johor Bahru at midnight.

That night, they visited their beloved friend, Nurul Hafizah, and spent the night together. Solat Jenazah was offered after the fajr prayer in the mosque, and in the morning, the funeral van left to Kuala Pilah, where to body was to be laid to rest. The girls, along with their other friends drove to Kuala Pilah, to witness the funeral, then back to Kuala Lumpur. The next weekend, she came back again with some of her friends to visit Hafizah’s sisters who were still hospitalised. I can see the traumatic impact on her. She was after all, her best friend. It was a tragedy, and we kept on praying hoping that God the Almighty will give a good life in the hereafter for  Hafizah, and strength to her friends and family to cope with the loss.

On the authority of Abu Musa al-Ash’ari (رضي الله عنه ), the Prophet (صلي الله عليه و سلم ) said:

A good friend and a bad friend are like a perfume-seller and a blacksmith: The perfume-seller might give you some perfume as a gift, or you might buy some from him, or at least you might smell its fragrance. As for the blacksmith, he might singe your clothes, and at the very least you will breathe in the fumes of the furnace.
[sahih al-Bukhari, vol 3, #314 and Muslim]

I’ve seen them growing up as friends and I love them all. May Allah guide them and grant them success in this life and the life in the hereafter.

About Dr. AA

I am an educator, professional trainer, safety consultant, researcher, social worker, outdoor enthusiast, and a thinker.
This entry was posted in Happening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

