On the fate of a fish

As I skimmed through the local newspaper, I found the news about the Elwa Dam in the state of Washington USA, built in 1913. The dam is about to be decommissioned and dismantled to restore the Salmon run that was cut years ago. The report is published in many news portals including this one (http://www.forbes.com/feeds/ap/2011/05/28/general-us-elwha-dam-removal_8489808.html).

What captured my attention the most is this statement “The fish are particularly important to members of the Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe, whose ancestors have occupied the Elwha Valley for generations and whose members recall stories of 100-pound Chinook salmon so plentiful you could walk across the river on their backs.” Wow, walking on the back of the fish! Perhaps it is an expression to signify the fact that there were so many of them!.

The chinook salmon is the largest species in the salmon family and is also known by various other names such as the king salmon, tyee salmon, Columbia River salmon, black salmon, etc. Chinook salmon are highly valued, due in part to their relative scarcity compared to other salmon along most of the Pacific coast.

The American efforts can be seen from two angles. From one, one would be happy as the American government has realized some of their shortcomings and made an attempt to make some corrective measures. From another, one might say, perhaps the dam is after all due to be decommissioned owing to aging effects and its associated risks. In any case, the end result is still positive to the salmons, if somehow they are able to relearn the path followed by their ancestors years ago. Good luck salmons.

I can also recall the fact that 15 years ago, it was easy to catch fish in South China Sea. Despite the fact that I was a rookie in deep-sea fishing, we easily managed a handsome catch every time we went down to Pulau Pemanggil or Pulau Aur. There were simply a lot of fish. The situation is very different today. Why is this happening? Many answers can be speculated but the photo below is one form of answer.

"Drag-Net" Operating near the shore!!!

So, may it be greed or convenience or perceived necessity, the environment and its dwellings  are often subject to sacrifices. If we carry on at the same pace like what’s happening today, I’m afraid, there might not be anything left for our great grandchildren.

About Dr. AA

I am an educator, professional trainer, safety consultant, researcher, social worker, outdoor enthusiast, and a thinker.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the fate of a fish

  1. Azizan A. says:

    Assalamu’alaikum Prof. Dr. AA,

    Suka membaca blog Prof…padat dengan maklumat tentang pelbagai aktiviti harian yang dilakukan. Coretan peribadi (spt aktiviti melancong dan memancing) serta kisah hidup Prof. sebagai ahli akademik turut dimuatkan untuk dikongsi bersama dengan para pembaca…sangat menghiburkan dan menginsafkan…very interesting blog to read indeed!

    Saya mula mengenali blog Prof. secara tidak sengaja pada Julai 2010 semasa hendak mencari maklumat tentang ikan baung. Google search engine took me to one of your earlier pages where you put a photo of yourself having ikan baung masak asam pedas meal in Segamat. Since then, I’ve been happy to visit your blog again even though I must say that I actually do so once in a while.

    One of your latest posts here somehow drew back my attention to continue on reading your blog today. It’s about why 24 hours never seem to be enough for us in fulfilling our routine activities everyday. Yes, I absolutely agree with what you’ve written as I’m one of the perfect examples of this particular issue. The hectic pace of my life (I’m always busy at work) makes me feel that time is so short. There’s always almost everything to do even in my free time. Feeling hopeless, I always end up complaining and being unnecessarily stressful. But things have happened in my past where the outcomes yielded more than what I had expected after I had managed my time wisely (an evidence that supports your opinion about this matter in this blog).

    I’m writing this to develop my writing skills because I’ve always wanted to be a successful writer. I’m a government servant but I ain’t as educated as you’re. I wish I could write more everyday but perhaps, I’m not serious enough (I never finished writing a single page in a blog!). Now that I’ve come back to your blog, I hope the motivation I get will keep my momentum going.

    From Selangor with Admiration,

    Azizan bin Aziz (aka Azizan A. or simply AA)
    Center of Excellence for Environmental Forensics,
    Faculty of Environmental Studies, UPM Serdang

    E-mails: izan_aziz@putra.upm.edu.my; tlm.admin@gmail.com
    (We seem to have something in common, so do drop me a line!)

    • Dr. AA says:

      Wa alaikum as-salam Azizan,

      Good to hear that there’s something good in my writing. Yaa lah, tulis suka-suka dan tak serious. Simply sharing of experience and opinion.

      Everybody can write, I think, cuma kalau nak jadi succesful writer, mungkin kena ikut program yang serious kot. PTS ada organise some writing workshop.
      Some of my friends have attended them and I think they benefited a lot. Kalau ada masa mungkin elok juga tulis buku secara serious supaya dapat membantu membentuk minda masyarakat terutama generasi muda yang akan menempuh dunia yang semakin mencabar.

      Perhaps, I might be able to do that sometimes later…

      I’m still blogging leisurely to add colours to life.

      AA

Leave a Reply

