From a father to his sons

Gambar Hiasan

One day a father wrote an email to his sons, it read something like this:

My dear sons, I love you all. Today, I’m writing about something serious. There will be a time when you are going to choose somebody to marry, to share your life with. Before you do that, please consider this piece of advice from me.

Once I asked a wise man , “What advise would you give to your son, in finding a girl to marry ?” The wise man said, “I told my sons, I love you very much and I want you to enter jannah (paradise). But in order to enter jannah, you will need to serve your mother, to make your mother happy, and it will be very difficult for you to do it if your wife does not help you in doing so.”

So, my dear sons, today, I’m advising you the same thing and I hope you will consider this seriously. I want nothing for you except goodness. You know your mother. So, please use your wisdom in making that important decision…

The email was sent to three of them more than a year ago and he waited for a reply. The father was touched and hopeful upon reading the very short reply from his sons. He then prayed to God so that He will guide all his sons and make it easy for them to face all challenges in life.

Well, that’s life. In building harmonious marriage, compromises and sacrifices must be offered by both parties – the husband and the wife. Nevertheless, everything must be put within context according to priority. Wisdom is really needed, but again wisdom is accumulated throughout the journey of life. Pick them up as you find them, and never be ashamed of seeking advise from wise people around you as you’ll never regret it. The Quran says something to the effect ..”ask from those who know on matters you know not”.

About Dr. AA

I am an educator, professional trainer, safety consultant, researcher, social worker, outdoor enthusiast, and a thinker.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

