When things become common

Many years ago, when I heard a news of the demise of one of my friend’s parents, it sounded like somebody is dropping a bombshell. I would quickly planned my timing so that I won’t miss the funeral, and offer the prayer for the dead. Today, I’ve heard too many of those, and within the last 2 months, there were a couple. Still, as required by the conduct of a Muslim, I tried my best to offer what is due as prescribed by the ethics of brotherhood in Islam.

But today, something else is becomming common. We start to see fellow friends being lowered down to the grave to meet The Creator. One after another. Some with sufficient notice, some with very short one or unexpected.

My late beloved mother used to tell me, “among all the coconut fruits, sometimes the younger one would fall first”. Yes,  younger than me, our beloved brother Abd Hafidz left us. Somebody that I would describe as the “unsung hero” has been resourceful in many respects since I knew him in the 1990’s when I moved to Johor Bahru from Kuala Lumpur.   I’ve worked with him in several committees and has witnessed his commitments. Always available and ready to serve. At the grave, on his burial day, I told a fellow friend, “Today we have lost a great secretary”. Yes, Abd Hafidz has always been the secretary or assistant secretary for many different organizations – dakwah organization, NGO, mosque committee and many others. May Allah grant him His forgiveness, and put him eternally in jannah.

Leaving UTM Mosque towards Kangkar Pulai Muslim Cemetry

Leaving UTM Mosque towards Kangkar Pulai Muslim Cemetry

Death is a fact of life, but it should also be an alarm to us so that the required preparation is made. Allah reminds us in the Quran

Quran-63_9

O you who have believed, let not your wealth and your children divert you from remembrance of Allah . And whoever does that – then those are the losers.

Quran-63_10

And spend [in the way of Allah ] from what We have provided you before death approaches one of you and he says, “My Lord, if only You would delay me for a brief term so I would give charity and be among the righteous.”

Quran-63_11

But never will Allah delay a soul when its time has come. And Allah is Acquainted with what you do. 

About Dr. AA

I am an educator, professional trainer, safety consultant, researcher, social worker, outdoor enthusiast, and a thinker.
This entry was posted in Buatmu Sahabat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to When things become common

Leave a comment